Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
April 24, 2014, 12:54:24 AM
Home Help Search Login Register

+  Talk Knitting Discussion Chat Forums - The Wool Shack
|-+  Knitting hints and help, tips and tricks
| |-+  Knitting Basics
| | |-+  converting 8ply pattern to 4 ply..how?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: converting 8ply pattern to 4 ply..how?  (Read 9428 times)
lotsakids
Wool Shack Newcomer

View Profile
« on: December 03, 2005, 11:45:23 AM »

hi..I am new to this great forum..not to knitting, have been doing that for years..BUT I am not great at converting patterns for different ply wools...could anyone give me some hints on how to make it easy please.

I have a pattern for an 8 ply nappy soaker, and want to make it with 4 ply wool..how do I go about converting it. I dont want to use double wool.....thanks..janine

janine, mum of 8, or 9 if you include the other half
Cathy
Wool Shack Goddess

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2005, 08:30:57 AM »

Cheesy Good morning, just had to say hi,lots of kids!! someone like us , I have 5 sons so our family is 7, not far behind you.
How do you go finding time to knit,I put out a decree that house work is out for the day as I start a new project,then try to set an hour aside each night to work on it. I have been working since May as a school gardener so am even more pushed for time .Big families are fun aren't they!
Sorry I can't help with ply conversion, Sad I have often wondered if you use the large size in the pattern with the smaller ply ,but haven't got around to trying it,
Cheers Cathy Cool

http//myfivesons.blogspot.com
Anonymous
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2005, 09:24:48 AM »

This involves a little maths but what you have to do is take your new gauge and divide it by the one given in the pattern then multiply everything by the answer.
So say the pattern calls for 21sts to 10cm (2.1sts/cm) & your new gauge is 24sts to 10cm (2.4sts/cm) you divide 2.4 by 2.1 = 1.142